Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award

The Stephen B. Thacker Excellence in Mentoring Award, established in 2013 by the Thacker family and the EIS Alumni Association in partnership with the CDC Foundation, recognizes an individual who inspires the EIS community and exhibits unwavering commitment to the EIS Program, officers, and alumni through demonstrated excellence in applied epidemiology training, mentoring, and building public health capacity. Qualifying nominees are any current or former EIS supervisor or mentor in state, territorial or other field positions; CDC divisions or offices; or the EIS program.

Recipients

- 2023 Kirk Smith
- 2022 Matt Cartter
- 2021 John Kobayashi
- 2020 Kristine (Kris) Bisgard
- 2019 Brenda Rivera-García
- 2018 James Mercy and William Schaffner
- 2017 Jennifer McQuiston
- 2016 Polly A. Marchbanks
- 2015 Douglas H. Hamilton
- 2014 Lyle Conrad
- 2013 Stephen B. Thacker