J. Virgil Peavy Memorial Award

Virgil Peavy spent 32 years at CDC teaching biostatistics and trained more than 25,000 health professionals in state and local public health departments and around the world. The J. Virgil Peavy Memorial Award, established in 2003 by the EIS Alumni Association, recognizes and current EIS officer for the oral presentation that best exemplifies the effective and innovative application of statistics and epidemiologic methods in an investigation or study.

Recipients

- 2023 Peter DeJonge
- 2022 Peter DeJonge
- 2021 No award given this year
- 2020 No award given this year
- 2019 Heather Reese
- 2018 Elizabeth Soda
- 2017 Julie Lynn Self
- 2016 Christopher Lee
- 2015 Jin Qin
- 2014 Matthew Maenner
- 2013 Alison Laufer
- 2012 Noha H. Farag
- 2011 Matthew Willis
- 2010 Erin Murray
- 2009 Michael L. Jackson
- 2008 Katherine Ellingson
- 2007 Abhijeet Anand and David Lowrance
- 2006 Andrea Sharma
- 2005 Andrea Sharma
- 2004 Lori A. Pollack
- 2003 Danice Eaton