## **Anne Schuchat Distinguished Friend of EIS Award**

The Distinguished Friend of EIS Award was established in 1984 and sponsored by the EIS Alumni Association to recognize an individual who has championed and advocated for EIS and its officers, valued its diversity, and embodied the principles of the EIS program's creator, Alexander D. Langmuir. Eligible nominees will have made an exceptional commitment or contribution to the EIS program; been inspirational to the EIS community; and/or made a significant impact on the health, welfare, and happiness of the EIS program, officers, and alumni. Nominees are not limited to EIS alumni or CDC staff and include professionals who work or have worked in public health policy or practice.

In June 2021, the award was renamed to honor Dr. Anne Schuchat's steadfast devotion to and mentorship of EIS officers throughout her illustrious public health career. She dedicated 33 years to serving public health and advocating for the EIS program before retiring from her role as CDC's Principal Deputy Director. Dr. Schuchat is an EIS alumna from the Class of 1988.

## Recipients

- 2023 Korwaski "K" Jeter
- 2022 Jim Curran and Michael lademarco
- 2021 Dr. Anne Schuchat
- 2020 Jeffrey Engel
- 2019 Janell Routh
- 2018 Robert "Mike" Hoekstra
- 2017 Marcelle "Marci" Layton and Mary Anne Duncan
- 2016 Sally Brown
- 2015 David B. Callahan
- 2014 William Keene
- 2013 Douglas H. Hamilton
- 2012 Jeffrey P. Davis
- 2011 Thomas Peterman
- 2010 Robert Quick
- 2009 Arjun Srinivasan
- 2008 Denise Koo
- 2007 Dixie Snider
- 2006 Robert Tauxe and Kashef Ijaz
- 2005 Not Awarded
- 2004 David Sencer
- 2003 Paul Blake
- 2001 Barbara R. Holloway and William R. Jarvis
- 2002 Patricia Fleming and Stephen B. Thacker

- 2000 James Hadler
- 1999 Not Awarded
- 1998 John Horan
- 1997 Patsy Bellamy
- 1996 Jim Curran and Larry Schonberger
- 1995 Mike Osterholm
- 1994 Louise McFarland
- 1993 Kenneth L. Herrmann and William Roper
- 1992 Laurence R. Foster
- 1991 Alexander D. Langmuir
- 1990 J. Lyle Conrad
- 1989 Not Awarded
- 1988 Frances H. Porcher
- 1987 James Chin
- 1986 Mary Moreman
- 1985 William Schaffner
- 1984 Virgil Peavy